BT MAC key code complaint

A BT complaint here sent in regarding MAC Key code which is required when changing internet provider.

Dear Sir

I called on 12/8/09 to request for my MAC KEY, but to my surprise I was told that I am still tied into a contract that started in Sept 2008 for 18 months, so I disputed this and asked for proof,but was told by BT staff that “BT is a telephone company and does business only via telephone, so they do not have any proof a such”.


I replied that this is not true and that I will still need the proof what so ever, so I was told that they will send the query to the investigation department who will contact me within 48 hours..

After waiting till 19/8/09, I called BT again only to be told a different story that they are still investigating and that my broadband contract was updated in March 09,again I asked for proof of this and I was told that maybe I moved houses.

AgainI was told that the query is still under investigation and that they will not be able to tell me when the investigation will end.

I called again on 25/8/09 and 28/8/09, and received the same response that they are still investigating and are not able to tell me when this will end.

I then asked to speak to the manager, of which the answer was that he is busy. I also asked for your Alternate Dispute Resolution (ADR) Scheme, but the BT staff refused to give me the details.

However, as I started my contract in January 2008 of which I have the proof, I am not in contract with your broadband any longer and since BT has refused to provide me with the MAC kEY to allow me change Broadband providers, I have no alternative, but to cancel my direct debit with you..

As explainned to the BT staff on 13/8/09, the reason for my move is because I cannot afford to pay your fees any longer as I found it cheaper elsewhere.

I will be seeking compensation from BT for not responding to my query within the 48 hours, not a single call at all, my inconveniences and BT depriving me to move to a cheaper provider as I have till 31st August 2009 to move to the new provider after I get my MAC KEY.

I am looking forward to your response.

I will only accept your response in writing, as I do not trust any information BT gives over the telephone.

Yours faithfully

Mrs Oluseyi Omosebi

Written By
More from admin

BT Movers Department complaint

Yet another moving house complaint when dealing with phone and broadband BT...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.